Message from Prof. Indrajit Saha

Originally envisioned by Dr. B. C. Roy, North Bengal Medical College and Hospital was established in 1968 as the First Medical College of North Bengal. The planning was executed by Ajit Kumar Panja, the then state health minister. Prof. Ajit Kr. Duttagupta joined as the first official principal of the college which was then known as North Bengal University Medical College. NBUMC was rechristened in August 1978 to North Bengal Medical College & Hospital and the administrative control went from North Bengal University to Govt. of West Bengal.

The premedical classes started on 6.11.67 in a makeshift arrangement at Jackson Medical School, Jalpaiguri. 2nd to 6th batch of students undertook their premedical course at Raigunj University College. 7th batch onwards, the students started their premedical course at NBMC campus, Sushrutanagar, their own place. Classes for 1st year MBBS course for 1st batch started on 18.11.68 in NBU campus. MBBS classes started in Sushrutanagar, the present site of NBMC in 1972. The first 5 batches had to migrate to SSKM hospital for their clinical lessons after passing 2nd prof. First 2 batches completed internship and house-man ship there. The college got its recognition from the Medical Council of India in 1978, when the first batch of students got the coveted registration number.